An NVQ is a work-based qualification designed to measure competence (skills and knowledge) in the job concerned. Each NVQ consists of a number of units (or modules), each describing the performance and knowledge that is required to undertake a particular task in various situations.

Each candidate must produce a portfolio of evidence which is checked by an assessor who is monitored by an internal verifier. The whole process is monitored by an external verifier working for the awarding body concerned.

There are 5 levels of NVQ:

  • Level 1 (Introductory)
  • Level 2 (Operator)
  • Level 3 (Supervisor of Technician)
  • Level 4 (Management/Professional)
  • Level 5 (Senior Management)